Skip to content

Cooper elected to serve as SCADA president

COLUMBIA, SC – June 18, 2021 – Lynn “Chip” Cooper of Cooper Motor Company, located in Clinton, SC, has been elected President of the South Carolina Automobile Dealers Association (SCADA) for the 2021-2022 term. He was inducted on June 14, 2021, with the unanimous support of the SCADA franchised Dealer body. Cooper has served on the SCADA Board of Directors since 2006 when he was first elected as Director of the Piedmont District. In 2012, he was elected as a Regional Vice President and became Treasurer in 2019, rising to 1st Vice President in 2020.

Cooper Motor Company was founded in 1938 by Lynn Cooper, Sr. with a $750 loan, in a two-bay cotton warehouse with an inventory of three vehicles on West Main St. in Clinton, SC. Cooper Motor Company began a second generation of business in 1956 under Lynn Cooper, Jr., with Lynn “Chip” Cooper, III eventually purchasing the business from his father, his brother-in-law Steve Lamb, and partner Bob Cason to become the third-generation owner after starting in the business at age 12 in “clean up”. Today Cooper Motor Company is focused on Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep and Ram Trucks and is still located on Main Street in Clinton.

Upon graduation from Clinton High School in 1988, Chip attended Appalachian State University where he studied business and was a member of Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity. Chip has been married to his wife, Miki Cooper, for 23 years, and together they have two daughters, Ella (18) and Lois (15). Chip is a former Elder at the First Presbyterian Church and currently belongs to several boards including the Clinton Economic Development Corporation, the Laurens County Healthcare System Board of Trustees, and the National Advisory Board for Ram Medium Duty Trucks. Chip is also involved in numerous civic organizations as contributing to his community is of high importance. Chip’s hobbies include time spent with his family and on his farm.

Other Officers elected to the SCADA Board of Directors for the new term are 1st Vice President John Isgett of Raceway Automotive in Darlington, and Treasurer Scott Rizer of Rizer Chevrolet in Walterboro.

The 5 Vice Presidents for the SCADA Board of Directors are Perry Shuping of Honda of Columbia in Columbia, Fred Caldwell of Fred Caldwell Chevrolet in Clover, Robert Burns of Burns Ford in Lancaster, Richard Pendarvis of Pendarvis Chevrolet in Edgefield and Scott Christopher of Christopher Trucks in Greenville.

Leave a Comment